Concord University News
For Immediate Release: 
Jun 10 2010

CONTACT: Sarah Dalton
Concord University
Office of Advancement
PO Box 1000, Athens, WV 24712
Office: (304) 384-6312

Annual Homer K. Ball Memorial Scholarship Golf Tournament Raises Funds for Concord University Students

PIPESTEM, W.Va. – Sunny skies prevailed as golfers took to the course Friday, June 11 at Pipestem Resort State Park during the Annual Homer K. Ball Memorial Scholarship Golf Tournament.

The winning foursome with a score of 56 on the 18-hole course includes John Witt, Don Meadows, Jeff Broyles and Rodney Hearst. Second place honors went to Sam Townley, Doug Stone, John Scott and Al Cipolletti with a score of 60.

Proceeds from the tournament go to the Homer K. Ball Scholarship Fund held by the Concord University Foundation. Throughout the years, the tournament has raised more than $200,000 and funded approximately 800 scholarships for Concord students.

Ball, a long-time employee and supporter of Concord, played his last round in the 2008 tournament. A 1948 Concord graduate, former sheriff of Mercer County and retired director of the physical plant at Concord, Ball, an Athens resident, also served as a senator in the West Virginia legislature. He passed away in August 2008. Organizers honored his service and contributions to Concord by renaming the golf tournament in his memory. His sons, Phillip Ball and Greg Ball, carry on the tradition today.

The 67 participants in the golf tournament, listed by foursome, include: Tom Kaylor, Bob Lathrop, Tom Giffin and Bruce Sparks; Jim Simon, Bob Barnes and Ron Satterfield; R.W. “Buzzy” Wilkinson, Frank Wilkinson, Bill Albert and Ronnie Hypes; Adam Sarver, Rusty Sarver, David Johnson and Chris Stanley; Danny Taylor, Toby Seaver, Ed Pettus and Andrew Whittaker; Forrest Roles, Ben Hiener, Eric Besenyei and Brace Mullett; Elmer Bay, Harold Miller, Harold Brewster and Frank Brady; Bill Hopkins, Gary Mills, Darrell Guill and Eric Hopkins; Larry Ratliff, Danny Bolton, John Barry and Ian Flores; Craig Bowen, Chris Canterbury, Gary Bowen and Gary Bowen II; John Witt, Don Meadows, Jeff Broyles and Rodney Hearst; Jim White, Keith Schleicher, Chris Plaushin and Tommy White; Matt Vestal, Jonathan Bailey, Cletis Pack and Billy Brown; Sam Townley, Doug Stone, John Scott and Al Cipolletti; Jack Scott, Chris Leister, D.F. Mock and Russell Scott; Timm Boggess, Todd Boggess, Ben Boggess and Nathan Turner; and, Jason Lunsford, Dale Geiger, Philip Robertson and Phillip Ball.

Benefactors include: First Century Bank, Jerry L. Beasley, ARAMARK, The Charles T. “Chuck” Mathena Foundation, Murphy Insurance, Central Printing and Ray Mull.

Hole sponsors include: Smith, Lilly & Ball, Attorneys; Al Modena; City National Bank; Mountaineer Investigation & Security, Inc.; Robo Car Wash and Super Lube; Danny’s (Rick Kendrick); Star Builders, Inc.; Densmore & Shohl; Joe Keatley; United Bank; Joe Friedl, Jr.; BB&T; Bart Harvey; Alliance Construction Management, Inc; and AMR-ERM-CMS.

Along with awards for the top scorers, honors also went to John Witt for the longest drive. Winning closest-to-the-pin were Russell Scott, Ron Satterfield and Keith Schleicher. Bill Albert received the grand prize of a week’s stay in Sunset Beach, N.C. donated by Ray Mull.


Concord University Photos
By Sarah Dalton

First place…The winning foursome with a score of 56 includes, from left, John Witt, Don Meadows, Rodney Hearst and Jeff Broyles.


Second place…Finishing second are, from left, Al Cipolletti, Sam Townley, Doug Stone and John Scott with a score of 60.